Our President

Dr. Kenan Sahin

Founder & President of TIAX

Kenan’s role as President of TIAX continues a long career as academic, technologist and entrepreneur. He received his B.S. (1963) and Ph.D. (1968) from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and then taught and performed research at MIT, Harvard, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst until 1985. During his academic career, he published extensively in technology and received several teaching awards and obtained U.S. and inter­national patents.

In 1982, Kenan founded Kenan Systems with a $1,000 personal investment and no outside funding. The company went on to become a world leader in telecommunications software, employing nearly 1,000 people and with offices in a dozen countries. Both Kenan Systems and Kenan received numerous awards, including the Ernst & Young New England Entrepreneur of the Year in 1998.

In early 1999, Kenan Systems was acquired by Lucent Technologies and Kenan became Vice President of Software Technology at Bell Labs and President of Lucent’s Software Products Group, serving in those positions through 2000.

Kenan was chosen by the World Economic Forum as one of its 40 Technology Pioneers for 2003 and received the New England Business and Technology’s first “Circle of Excellence” award in 2004. In 2006, he was given the Golden Door Award by the International Institute of Boston and the 2010 Ellis Island Medal of Honor.

He has published numerous articles. Most recently he addressed the innovation backlog in articles for R&D Magazine and Technology Review. He is also a frequent speaker on the topic of successful implementation of innovation in technology.

Kenan serves, or has served on, numerous non-profit boards, including those of the Council on Competitiveness (CoC), MIT (for whom he is a life member), Argonne National Laboratory, the Association of Electrical and Medical Imaging Equipment Manufacturers (NEMA), the Boston Museum of Science, the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Symphony, and the American Field Service. He is also on the Steering Committee of the CoC’s Energy Security, Innovation & Sustainability Initiative; and on the External Advisory Board of MIT’s Energy Initiative.